Jim Gray Dissertation Award

Winner: Joy Arulraj

Joy Arulraj is an assistant Professor of Computer Science at Georgia Institute of Technology. He received his Ph.D. from Carnegie Mellon University in 2018, advised by Andy Pavlo. His doctoral research focused on the design and implementation of non-volatile memory database management systems. This work was conducted in collaboration with the Intel Science and Technology Center for Big Data, Microsoft Research, and Samsung Research.

Honorable mention: Bas Ketsman

Bas Ketsman is a postdoctoral researcher at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Lausanne (EPFL). In 2017 he obtained his PhD from Hasselt University in Belgium, advised by Frank Neven, where he was a PhD fellow of the Research Foundations - Flanders (FWO) and a member of the Databases and Theoretical Computer Science group. His research focuses on foundational aspects of large-scale data management and distributed computing. Bas' papers were selected for the ACM SIGMOD Research Highlight Award, listed in ACM best of Computing, and appeared as research Highlight in CACM. He also received the Distinguished Dissertation Award 2018 from the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS) and best paper awards at ACM PODS 2014 and 2015.